From coal port to the ultimate transport hub Limburg
From 1900 onwards, industrialisation progressed at top speed in Limburg and on 21 October 1936 the Port Charbonnier de Genck coal port was founded. Its main task was to transport coal from the coal mines in Genk (Zwartberg and Waterschei) to Wallonia. The port’s location was ideal, as there were no locks for ships to pass between Genk and Liege. In 1989, the name was changed to Kolenhaven van Genk. When Groep Machiels and Aperam took over the shareholding in June 1997, one of the objectives was to extend the range of services, and they renamed it Haven Genk NV.
More about our shareholders?
Founding of Port Charbonnier de Genck
By Limburgse Steenkoolmijnen and the Belgian State
21 October 1936
Partnership with Ebes (Elektricity plant Langerlo)
Name changed to KHG - Kolenhaven van Genk
13 February 1989
Groep Machiels and Aperam become shareholders
Start of construction of multi-modal logistics platform
1998 - 1999 - 2000
Direct shipping connection with Antwerp
10 April 2000
Direct rail connection with Northern Italy.
Extension/modernisation of rail infrastructure
2003 - 2004
Extension/modernisation of goods and bulk-goods terminal
2006 - 2007
Development of Zuiderdok Haven Genk for storage, transhipment and added value activities
2020 - …
Direct shipping connection with Rotterdam
Discover our logistics services
Haven Genk is your recommended logistics partner as a trimodal transport hub with a wide selection of services and facilities.